Pomegranate dyeing

This kitchen dyeing was a success!!  I used the leftover pomegranate rinds.  Yup, the seeds were great!!  I remember as a child my dad ate this bloody looking fruit and I wouldn’t eat it because it was icky looking.  Silly girl.  When I discovered how good they tasted, my dad laughed and laughed.

Pomegranate and indigo

Pomegranate and indigo

I arashi folded (pole wrapped) and dipped in the pomegranate bath.  And, then re-wrapped in the opposite direction and dipped in my re-activated indigo bath.  (Which had been partially activated using the leftover pomegranate water.)

My weaving guild is holding a challenge to use paper in a fiber process.  I up-cycled/repurposed a paper catalog–dyeing it with arashi folds, too.  This is going to be the background.

Nice day here that promises spring and Happy jumped in the picture!

Happy has to get in the picturep.s. thank heavens for spell-checkers.  Too many vowels in pomegranate!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Pomegranate dyeing

  1. Hi Have a few small desiccated pomegranates and wonder if just soak whole thing or break up (wonder if any juice left). How long did you soak yours rinds or was it cookd or solar dyed?

    • Go for it!! I ate the fruit and used the rinds for dyeing. I’ve used the rinds immediately. And, I’ve saved them in a plastic bag in the fridge for a while (some weeks) and then used them. I saved them to accumulate enough to make a pot. If I had dried fruit, I’d add water and slowly heat them. I might break them up if it’s not too much work in order to get more surface to get near the water.

      Let me know how it works!!

Leave a Reply

