Goldenrod

It’s fall and I’m not so motivated to work in the garden.  And, there’s not so much going on to dye with.  The post of an Arizona dyer (capturing sunshine with snakeweed) inspired me to check out the goldenrod that’s blooming locally.

Goldenrod plant

Goldenrod plant

Not the prettiest plant, it’s a weed, but it won’t make me sneeze.

I tried it on cotton and also on wool.  Then I over dyed with indigo.

Goldenrod on cotton, indigo shibori

Goldenrod on cotton, indigo shibori

On cotton, it’s a pleasant yellow, light but sunny.  The piece was folded and dipped in indigo.   The indigo stayed a nice blue (didn’t mix and go green.)

Goldenrod on wool, indigo dipped

Goldenrod on wool, indigo dipped

On wool, it’s a real treat.  I dyed some hand spun and the color was a very light yellow, more butter than sun.  Disappointing.

But, when I overdyed the wool with indigo…oooh-la-la.  Such wonderful greens from celadon to lovely olive green.  (Note, the celadon was the quick dip when I said, OH, MY…I didn’t keep any undyed so I removed that end quickly.  And, dyed one end for extra time.)  Then I redyed another piece to share the light original color.

2 thoughts on “Goldenrod

  1. The greens you got from over-dyeing with indigo are fantastic! I tried the snakeweed with an over dye of indigo last year and was disappointed….. there was a residual resin left on the wool from the snakeweed that kept the indigo from adhering very well. The green was pretty where it did stick!

Leave a Reply

