Black walnut overdyes

With fall comes cooler weather and black walnuts and I’ve been dipping some fabric from my stash.

Black walnut over coreoposis and cochineal

Black walnut over coreoposis and cochineal

Black walnut over backyard yellow

Black walnut over backyard yellow

 

 

On the left is a piece dipped in cochineal and coreopsis.

The right piece is black walnut over backyard yellow, probably honeysuckle.

 

 

 

My favorite has black walnut over indigo.  With  lines and some subtle water marks–ones that I’ll never reproduce!

Black walnut over indigo

Black walnut over indigo

And a reminder that black walnut can have authority…here’s a painted mandela.  Combine ferrous sulfate with black walnut for black/black/black!

Black walnut mandelas

Black walnut mandelas

The squirrels and I have a deal…they knock the nuts off the tree.  Maybe they try to gnaw the hulls and leave them on the ground.  Then it’s my turn!  I collect and process the nuts. Then I pitch them out and the critters take a second look at the returned nuts!!

One thought on “Black walnut overdyes

Leave a Reply

