Coreopsis Printing for summer tops

Pick it out of the trash
Take it from your cache
What can be done with your stash?

Using a “print paste” I’ve been putting coreopsis on fabrics.  Playing with the color and designs, I’ve been building up a stash.  Now, I’ve turned the stash into blouses…

Coreopsis and rust printing

Coreopsis and iron printing

This spring, I took a class on mandelas which work nicely in their variety.  The range of hues come from a mix of an alum-based paste, combined with more or less

Coreopsis and rust printing

Coreopsis and iron printing (front)

Coreopsis and rust printing

Coreopsis and iron printing (back)

ferrous sulfate (iron.)  Then the piece is dipped in a “vat” of coreopsis dye-liquor.  (My vats are really small pots–maybe a cup or two of liquid depending on the number of coreopsis blooms that I harvested that day!)

One challenge is to amp the coreopsis color.  My goal is the deep orange that I get from a small sample, but I’ll be happy with a lighter, but definite orange.  I’m thinking that the coreopsis contains enough tannin so when the iron comes into contact, it changes the color of the dye bath.  I’m experimenting with a pre-dip of tannin, or coreopsis liquid to fix the iron and then re-dip with more coreopsis liquid.

Who’d a thunk, that I’d be spending weeks on one flower!

One thought on “Coreopsis Printing for summer tops

  1. Very cool. I like the mandelas. Deb

    Sent from my ASUS Pad

    Natural Dyes from my Backyard wrote:

    > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com mojoquilts posted: “Pick it out of the trash Take it from your cache What can be done with your stash? Using a “print paste” I’ve been putting coreopsis on fabrics.  Playing with the color and designs, I’ve been building up a stash.  Now, I’ve turned the stash into blouse”

Leave a Reply

