Pear (Bradford) — color shifter

The wind took down a branch of my neighbor’s Bradford Pear tree.  I remember collecting pear leaves last summer and they resulted in a much lighter/boring tan color.  But, I had lots of leaves, so I persisted.

Spring leaves

Spring leaves

I stripped the leaves and used them for my dye decoction.  My test strip showed up backyard yellow, but, a nice yellow, so I let the pot sit overnight.  The next morning when I peaked, my test strip had faded.  Bummer.  But on second look, it was a rosy-tan.  That was my first color shifting.

I prepped a couple pieces of cotton fabric–one for printing, and one for shibori-folding. I’m not really excited about the printing sample…I left it in the dye pot for a long time to get nice color.  But in that amount of time, I lost most of my bright print-mordant.  The dark (ferrous) survived so I know it’s Pear:)  That’s my disclaimer…but… WAHOO!!  Rosy tan from the backyard!!

When I pulled the folded piece out of the pot, it was tan on the outside, and a little yellow-beigier on the inside.  As I exposed it, the color went lighter and yellower and tanner.  It’s ended up a light rosy tan.  Another color shift!

Think Happy shows up to get a treat?  Or because she wanted to get a closer look on the dye results!!

Think Happy shows up to get a treat? Or because she wanted to get a closer look on the dye results!!

It keeps changing.  I hope there’s more wind, so I can gather more leaves!!

Pears are part of the roseacae family so I’ll be looking for other “sibs!”

One thought on “Pear (Bradford) — color shifter

  1. Cool! I just used some red cabbage in a hot dye pot with iron and got a pale green! Not sure where the pinks and blues went, but thinking it might be due to the iron. Will try again…!

Leave a Reply

