Honey Suckle and petroglyphs

Dyed with willow and indigo

 

Just getting back from family visits.

I took a trip to visit my new great nieces…the ones who get my practice onesies!!  Here’s Holland…I think she cares a lot more about her fingers and pacifier.  But I think she looks quite nice in her onesie!!  (no humbly, here!!)  The onesie was dyed with willow barks and twigs to give it a rosy tan base, then tied and overdyed with indigo.

V-V Heritage site preserves the rock art of long-ago residents, the Sinagua

 

 

While in Arizona, I toured some national parks…Petrified Forest, Painted Desert, Walnut Canyon, Grand Canyon.  My favorite was the V-V (Vee Bar Vee) Heritage site near Sedona.  The site includes some wonderful petroglyphs.  They are wondrous both for their look as well as to ponder why they are there.  Is it a record of events?  A teaching tool?  Part of a spiritual ceremony?  A method of telling time (light shines on specific places at the equinoxes.)  For me, they are some wonderful images that will work nicely in shibori methods.

Baby clothes dyed with honey suckle

 

So, when I got home, the first project was to prep fabric/ garments.  My brother and sis-in-law came in for a visit.  And, we got right to it!  A two-purpose job…we trimmed back the weedy honey suckle bushes and stripped the leaves for a dye pot.  This time onesies and tops for older babies (Holland and her twin sister are definitely growing!!)  Honey suckle gives a fairly acid backyard yellow, but it should be a good base for overdyes of indigo and madder.  Next step is to stitch in the petroglyph images.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Honey Suckle and petroglyphs

  1. She looks so cute in her onsie!
    You were traveling so close to where I live! I’m in Cottonwood (and work in Jerome)….. and I agree, the V-V Heritage site is pretty awesome! OH, and we lived at the Petrified Forest when Emily was just born (30 years ago)….. at that time you could still walk down and look at the petroglyph walls there, face to face!
    I’m eager to see your shibori petroglyphs!! I used to batik petroglyphs on tee-shirts when my kids were small….. and have been wondering how to do them again, with natural dyes. My mind had wandered to the thought of cutting glyphs out of plywood, and using them as shibori resists…. but it’s a project that will probably just linger in my mind and not get done. There’s never enough time to do it all!! 😦

    • You live in fascinating country…I love the area around Sedona. SOOOOO beautiful!! And, every park I went to, there was information posted about the plant life. Including how the Native Americans had used them for living, including DYEING!!

      • It’s great that they do that…. post the plants and their usages! Back when we lived at Walnut Canyon John (my ex husband) got the opportunity to be the one who gathered and dried all of the plants for the display (it’s been redone since then, that was over 30 years ago!).

      • Hi Moya. Just discovered your blog and what great information. Clara and I are going back to Shakerag next summer for Angelina DeAntonis. I did my first indigo 3 weeks ago and never did get my first vat to go again. I thought I just had used up the indigo. I overdyed some ecoprinted silks and loved the results. I’m hooked. Renee

      • Too funny about the indigo. Michel made it seem so easy. My pot worked well at first…then it went dull grey. I did all kinds of googling and determined it was probably the ph, so I added soda ash while I waited for my ph strips to arrive. When the test strips arrived, I found it was a bit too alkaline…but it works. Amazing how useful it is to follow ALL the instructions!! Shakerag was great!!

Leave a Reply

