Yarrow

Another perennial plant in my front yard is yarrow. I have two kinds, one (the more common I think) acid-y yellow and the other is orange and gold. I followed my practice…boiled up a few flowers and put in samples from all three prepared fabrics.

Yarrow

Yup, the colors are pretty dull and not very deep. But, I’m starting to see a pattern. A & C are pretty much a tan color. C (aluminum acetate and tannin over top) has a bit of yellow. B shows some promise. There’s actually some color.

So, I’m starting to see that the tannin will dye the fabric and is affecting the final color. (The gall nut tannin that I’ve ordered just can’t come soon enough.) But, at last I’m seeing some color. WAHOO!!

Leave a Reply

