Dock — a weed or a dye??

Having seen Michel Garcia pull up a dock plant and use both the leaves and the roots to develop a golden/tan color, I was on the look-out. There in my front yard was just the plant. (The one that I have been trying to trim out for years!!)

My results were disappointing…not enough dye material? And, since this was one of my first dye efforts…maybe it’s my fabric preparation. I’m going to include a picture of the plant…at least that will be eye candy! And the fabric. The picture isn’t very good…but, then again, neither is the fabric!

Broadleaf Dock

Dyed with Dock

Leave a Reply

